Official Red Wing Onlineshop Entire European Heritage Collection 20 €+ Free Shipping within Germany

FAQ



Sizing Guide


How to find the correct size for a Men’s Red Wing? 

Firstly, it is important to state that Red Wings fit rather big and require a few weeks of break-in time. We recommend to choose a half to a whole EU or US size smaller (depending on if you have a wider or more narrow foot), than usually worn in other brands of shoes. This is due to the fact that the leather of our shoes will stretch and soften within the first weeks of wear due to bodyweight, sweat, and warmth. In addition, you will create your own footbed by wearing the shoe.

Warning: If you need to wear orthotics, please take your usual shoe size. They will prevent the creation of your own footbed.


How to find the correct size for the Women's Collection?

In contrast to our Men's Collection, the Red Wing Heritage Women's Collection fits true-to-size. We recommend to choose your “regular” shoe size.

 

How do I use the Sizing Chart? 

Please utilize the sizing chart provided on our website to find the right size. Please measure your left and right foot from the heel to the longest part of the front. Any toe could be the longest toe. Please take the longest measurement and take exactly the size with the measurement in the chart. A buffer for you to pronate is already added on top during production.

 

How should they feel and fit, while trying them on for the first time?

A tight and snug fit on the sides is desirable. Here, most of the stretching will occur. Please make sure that the small toe is not being pushed into the actual foot. That is not advisable. Even though they should feel snug it is incremental that your toes have plenty of room in the front-part of the boot, for the length of our boots will not change when broken in. A finger-width of space would be perfect. If you experience a little bit of heel-slip in the first days of wear, there is no need to worry. This will improve or disappear within the first weeks of wear. Furthermore it is very important to wear the “right” sock in a Red Wing Shoe. We suggest opting for a thicker sock that fits tight around the foot without wrinkles, as they will cushion the (at first) hard leather. Our Cotton Cushion sock has proven to be the perfect choice for a safe and comfortable break-in experience.

Exceptions: Our Postman and Work Chukka line fits half a size bigger and not a full size as stated above.


Care Advice


How to take care of my Red Wing boot?

Basics: Due to the fact that our shoes are built with different leather types, it is very important to firstly determine, with which leather type your shoe is constructed. We differentiate between Oil-Tanned, Smooth Finished and Roughout Leather. Below, you’ll find directions for the right care for each individual leather type.

 

How do I take care of Oil-Tanned Leather the right way?

The major part of our collection is built with an Oil-Tanned Leather. Prominent examples are the 875 Moc Toe, the 8111 Iron Ranger and the 3343 Blacksmith. A detailed overview can be found in the chart below. 

As a first step, you should take out the laces. Following, excess dirt and dust needs to be removed from the upper and the welt. This can be done with a damp cloth. After that, the leather needs to dry, before applying any care product.

Directions for cleaning an extremely dirty leather with spots and stains within the leather: If you wish to restore the original color of the leather, because there’s already stains within the leather, then this can be done best with our Foam Leather Cleaner. Take the detergent and fill a couple of sealing caps in a bowl and add some lukewarm water. Use the sponge that comes with the product to stir and move it a little bit in the liquid so that a foamy surface develops. Now, you can use the soaked sponge to rub out the spots and stains on the leather. This requires some time and multiple applications, but it works. After the application, he leather will need to dry a few hours, before continuing with further care applications.

Now, you can proceed with applying oil to maintain the leather. Use our Brush to work in the chosen product. You can choose between the following oils:


Mink Oil: Medium darkening effect. Matt.

Leather Cream: Hardly any darkening effect. Slight shine.

Leather Conditioner: Medium darkening effect. Slight shine.

Boot Oil: Needs to be applied with cloth or paintbrush, because it’s a liquid. Heavy darkening effect. Matt.

 

Make sure to use just a very small amount of product as our oils nurture the leather a lot. Avoid “over-oiling”, which will cause the leather to be too soft and wet.

Continue with the Welt Brush and apply some oil of your choice on the welt of the boot. This will keep the welt flexible and will guarantee future resolings to be successful. A dried out welt makes a resole impossible.

Now, leave your shoes to dry for a couple of hours, so that the oil can really be soaked up by the leather.

Lastly, you should apply our Leather Protector. Use this specifically for Red Wing Leathers developed protective spray to ensure maximum water resistancy.

Please bear in mind that taking care of your shoes every 6 months usually is more than sufficient. We recommend taking care of your beloved boots in spring and autumn.

 

How do I take care of Smooth Finished Leather the right way?

Smooth Finished Leathers are rather dry in comparison to Oil-Tanned Leathers, which means you’ll have to take care of them differently. Models that are made with a Smooth Finished Leather are for example the Postman or Beckman Series.  A detailed overview can be found in the chart below.

As a first step, you should take out the laces. Following, excess dirt and dust needs to be removed from the upper and the welt. This can be done with a damp cloth. After that, the leather needs to dry, before applying any care product.

Now you can apply our Shoe Cream. Depending on the base color of the leather, you can choose a Neutral, Black or Brown product. However, Neutral Shoe Cream can be used on any color. Use our Shoe Brush to apply the product on the upper leather. Now, leave the shoes to dry for a couple of hours and then you’ll be able to polish the leather with our Boot Care Cloth. Make sure to do fast and powerful rub-movements as this will maximize the shine.

Continue with the Welt Brush and apply some oil of your choice on the welt of the boot. This will keep the welt flexible and will guarantee future resolings to be successful. A dried out welt makes a resole impossible.

Now, leave your shoes to dry for a couple of hours, so that the oil can really be soaked up by the leather.

Lastly, you should apply our Leather Protector. Use this specifically for Red Wing Leathers developed protective spray to ensure maximum water resistancy.

The number of applications per year depends on how polished you want your Red Wings to appear. We recommend at least 2 applications per year, but you can also treat your boots every two months if you like it clean & shiny.

 

How do I take care of Roughout Leather the right way? 

The term Roughout Leather basically means suede leather. Styles that are built with this leather type are for example our 8083 Iron Ranger or 8863 Moc Toe.  A detailed overview can be found in the chart below.

First, put out the laces. Then, take our Nubuck Cleaner Kit and use the brush to wipe off excess dirt. Make sure to also clean the welt area. Proceed with using the eraser to rub out deeper spots and stains. 

Continue with the Welt Brush and apply some oil of your choice on the welt of the boot. This will keep the welt flexible and will guarantee future resolings to be successful. A dried out welt makes a resole impossible.

Now, leave your shoes to dry for a couple of hours, so that the oil can really be soaked up by the leather.

Lastly, you should apply our Leather Protector. Use this specifically for Red Wing Leathers developed protective spray to ensure maximum water resistancy. 

We recommend to treat your Roughout Red Wings at least 4 times per year with the Leather Protector. The Welt should be oiled twice a year and the Nubuck Suede Cleaner Kit can be used according to personal requirement.

Please note that after many years of wear, a Roughout Boots will probably need some Oil. If you think that the leather of your boots tends to be too dry or dried out, feel free to send us a picture to info@redwingberlin.com so that we can give you a clear estimation of this step is necessary now.

 

Cobbler Service


When do I need to have my Red Wings resoled?

As our soles come in different materials and dimensions it is very hard to communicate exact lifetimes.

Usually it is best to just take a look and inspect your soles. Is the heel or back part of the sole uneven or oblique? Is the profile or tread on the main part of the sole worn down? If your sole is not giving you enough stability anymore or if it became slippery due to a worn down profile, then it’s definitely time for a resole.

 In regards to construction, our soles have to be resoled when more than half of the material is worn down at one area of the sole. Heeled constructions have to be renewed or resoled, when nails are starting to show.

However, if you’re not sure if a resole needs to be done, don’t hesitate to contact us at info@redwingberlin.com and include a few pictures of the soles.

 

How can I get my Red Wings resoled?

You can hand us your Red Wings personally in our Stores in Berlin, Hamburg, or Munich. The staff will help you with your request and will initiate the repair with our workshop.

Furthermore, you can send us your Red Wings for a resole or repair. We accept repairs from within the EU, Norway, Switzerland and the UK.

Just click the menu point “Resoling” in the navigation of this website and download the PDF “Repair Sheet”. Print it out and fill out the form with your requested repairs and your personal contact details. Put your shoes with the filled out form into a box and send it to our Store in Berlin Mitte:

 

Red Wing Shoe Store Berlin

Muenzstrasse 8

10178 Berlin

Germany

 

Once we have received your parcel, we will send you a confirmation of receipt and payment order via E-Mail. Please pay the open amount timely via Bank Transfer. After the completion of your repair we will immediately send back the repaired shoes to your indicated address.

 You can find all information and documents regarding a repair via shipment on our website under the button “Resole”.

 

How long does a resole take? 

Four our repair and resoling service we are working together with a master cobbler. As we are offering a service to your where the majority of the steps are manually done and we strive for quality that matches the quality of our boots it takes a while to complete the service. Please bear in mind that this will take at least 3 weeks for customers dropping off their shoes in the stores and at least 4 weeks for customers sending them in. We will inform you in person and on our website how long the current expected waiting time is. We are always experiencing a higher workload during the colder time of the year. Therefore it is advisable to hand in your resoling pairs in the warmer time of the year.

  

How much does a resole cost? 

You can find an overview of the current prices here.

Of course, we also offer small repairs such as sewing seams or renewing eyelets or hardware. For further information on small repairs, please contact our stores or write us an E-Mail at info@redwingberlin.com .

Official Red Wing Onlineshop Entire European Heritage Collection 20 €+ Free Shipping within Germany

FAQ



Größenermittlung


Wie finde ich die richtige Größe bei einem Herrenschuh?

Eingangs ist zu sagen, dass Red Wing Schuhe tendenziell groß ausfallen und eingetragen werden müssen. Aus Erfahrung wird der Schuh 0,5-1 Größe kleiner benötigt, je nach Fußbreite und Spannhöhe, als gewohnt. Ein Red Wing Schuh weitet sich im Eintrageprozess, der circa 2-3 Wochen in Anspruch nimmt. Durch Gewicht-, Hitze und Schweißeinwirkung “erläuft” man sich in dieser Zeit sein eigenes Fußbett und schafft sich, damit mehr Platz.

Vorsicht: Wenn Sie eine orthopädische Einlage tragen müssen, sollten Sie Ihre übliche Größe wählen, da diese das Einlaufen des Fußbetts verhindert.


Wie finde ich die richtige Größe bei einem Damenschuh?

Im Gegensatz zu unserer Herrenkollektion fällt unsere Damenkollektion nicht größer als angegeben aus. Es bietet sich also an, die Schuhgröße zu wählen, die meist beim Schuhkauf gewählt wird.


Wie ist die Größentabelle auf unserer Webseite zu interpretieren?

Verwenden Sie gerne unsere Größentabelle nachdem Sie Ihre Füße gemessen haben. Messen Sie Ihren linken und rechten Fuß immer vom Ende der Ferse bis zum längsten Teil Ihres Fußes. Dieser kann auch der Mittelzeh sein. Für die Größenauswahl nehmen Sie das längste Maß (links oder rechts) und wählen Sie 1 zu 1 die cm Länge in der Tabelle. Der Platz im Schuh nach vorne zum Abrollen ist automatisch mit in der Größe eingerechnet.


Wie soll sich ein neuer Red Wing Schuh am Fuß anfühlen?

Es ist vollkommen in Ordnung, wenn der Schuh bei der ersten Anprobe seitlich fest und stramm sitzt. Dies ist sogar wünschenswert, denn hier findet in den kommenden Wochen auch die meiste Dehnung statt. Wichtig zu beachten ist, dass der kleine Zeh nicht in den Fuß gedrückt wird. Ferner sollten die Zehen nicht die Spitze des Schuhs berühren. Hier gilt als Faustregel: Ein Fingerbreit Platz. Wie bereits angeführt werden unsere Schuhe seitlich weiter und weicher, jedoch wird sich die Länge des Schuhs im Eintrageprozess nicht mehr verändern. Zudem ist noch anzuführen, dass ein wenig Spiel im Fersenberich anfangs völlig normal ist. Der sogenannte Fersenschlupf wird sich mit der Zeit minimieren, bzw. ganz verschwinden. Wichtig ist außerdem die richtige Socke: Wir empfehlen eher dicke Socken, da diese das anfangs sehr harte Leder abfedern und für deutlich mehr Komfort in den ersten Tagen und Wochen sorgen. Unsere hauseigene Cotton Cushion Socke hat sich hier in punkto Dicke und Materialzusammensetzung als optimal erwiesen.

Außnahmen: Unsere Postman und Work Chukka Serie fällt nur circa eine halbe Nummer größer aus.



Pflege


Wie pflege ich meinen Red Wing richtig?

Generelles: Da unsere Schuh mit verschiedenen Ledertypen gefertigt sind, ist es wichtig zuerst festzustellen mit welchem Leder Ihr Red Wing ausgestattet ist. Wir unterscheiden zwischen Oil-Tanned, Smooth Finished und Roughout Leder. Sie finden nun unten passende Pflegehinweise zu den aufgeführten Typen und eine Erklärung dieser.


Wie pflege ich Oil-Tanned Leather richtig?

Der Großteil unserer Kollektion ist mit einem Oil-Tanned, also öl-gegerbten Leder ausgestattet. Dazu zählen beispielsweise der 875 Moc Toe, der 8111 Iron Ranger oder der 3343 Blacksmith. Eine genaue Übersicht aller Modelle finden Sie in der Tabelle unten.

Zuerst sollten die Schnürsenkel ausgeschnürt werden. Anschließend sollte der Schuh von grobem Schmutz und Staub gereinigt werden. Hier empfiehlt sich ein angefeuchteter Lappen oder Schwamm. Lassen Sie den Schuh nun trocknen.

 Reinigung eines stark verschmutzten Oil Tanned Leathers: Sollten Ihre Schuhe starke und tief sitzende Verschmutzungen aufweisen, können Sie diese mit unserem Foam Leather Cleaner entfernen. Hier füllen Sie einige Verschlusskappen des Mittels in eine Schale und vermischen das Produkt mit etwas lauwarmem Wasser. Legen Sie nun den mitgelieferten Schwamm in die Lösung und drücken Sie diesen mehrmals bis sich eine schaumige Flüssigkeit bildet. Jetzt können Sie das Leder mit dem Schaum durch kräftiges Reiben reinigen. Nehmen Sie sich gern 5-10 Minuten Zeit pro Schuh um eine porentiefe Reinigung zu gewährleisten. Anschließend muss das Leder mehrere Stunden trocken.

Anschließend tragen Sie mit unserer großen Rosshaarbürste das passende Fett auf das komplette Oberleder auf. Je nach Präferenz ist hier zwischen Mink Oil (mittelmäßige Nachdunkelung des Leders nach Anwendung), Leather Cream (kaum Nachdunkelung des Leders nach Anwendung) und Leather Conditioner (mittelmäßige Nachdunkelung mit leichtem Glanz) zu wählen. Alternativ kann man auch unser flüssiges Boot Oil mit einem Pinsel auftragen. Hier ist der Nachdunkelungseffekt allerdings am stärksten. Für alle Pflegeprodukte gilt: Weniger ist mehr. Benutzen Sie möglichst wenig Produkt, da eine Überfettung des Leders nur aufwendig zu korrigieren ist.

Tragen Sie nun mit unserer Weltbrush etwas Fett (Produkt nach Präferenz) auf den Rahmen des Schuhs auf. Dies ist der umseitige Lederteil, auf dem die Rahmennaht aufgesetzt ist. Durch diese Anwendung gewährleisten Sie, dass der Schuh möglichst lang neubesohlbar bleibt. Ein vertrockneter Rahmen macht eine fachgerechte Besohlung unmöglich.

Lassen Sie nun das Fett einige Stunden in Oberleder und Rahmen einziehen und besprühen sie abschließend den gesamten Schuh großzügig mit unserem Leather Protector. Dieses genau auf unser Leder abgestimmtes Imprägnierungsspray schützt den Schuh optimal vor Wasser und Schmutz und sorgt dafür, dass das Leder annähernd wasserdicht ist. Lassen Sie auch das Spray einige Stunden einwirken.

 Abschließend ist anzuführen, dass wir einen halbjährlichen Rhythmus empfehlen. Eine Pflege im Frühjahr und eine Pflege im Herbst genügen bei normalem, aber regelmäßigem Gebrauch der Schuhe.

 

Wie pflege ich Smooth Finished Leather richtig?

Sogenanntes Smooth Finished Leather ist ein Ledertypus, welcher eher trocken (also nicht fettig, wie Oil-Tanned Leather) und glatt ist. Schuhe mit diesem Leder sind beispielsweise die Postman und Beckman Kollektion. Eine genaue Übersicht aller Modelle finden Sie in der Tabelle unten.

Zuerst sollten die Schnürsenkel ausgeschnürt werden. Anschließend sollte der Schuh von grobem Schmutz und Staub gereinigt werden. Hier empfiehlt sich ein feuchter Lappen oder Schwamm. Lassen Sie den Schuh nun trocknen.

Tragen Sie nun, je nach Grundfarbe des Leders, unsere schwarzebraune oder neutrale Schuhcreme mit unserer großen Rosshaarbürste auf das gesamte Oberleder auf. Lassen Sie die Politur nun einige Stunden trocken und einziehen. Anschließend wird das Leder mit unserem Poliertuch aufpoliert und so auf Glanz gebracht.

Tragen Sie nun mit unserer Weltbrush etwas Mink Oil auf den Rahmen des Schuhs auf. Dies ist der umseitige Lederteil, auf dem die Rahmennaht aufgesetzt ist. Durch diese Anwendung mit Fett gewährleisten Sie, dass der Schuh möglichst lang neubesohlbar bleibt. Ein vertrockneter Rahmen macht eine fachgerechte Besohlung unmöglich.

 Lassen Sie nun das Fett einige Stunden im Rahmen einziehen und besprühen sie abschließend den gesamten Schuh großzügig mit unserem Leather Protector. Dieses genau auf unser Leder abgestimmtes Imprägnierungsspray schützt den Schuh optimal vor Wasser und Schmutz und sorgt dafür, dass das Leder annähernd wasserdicht ist. Lassen Sie auch das Spray einige Stunden einwirken.

Abschließend ist anzuführen, dass wir einen halbjährlichen Rhythmus empfehlen. Eine Pflege im Frühjahr und eine Pflege im Herbst genügen bei normalem, aber regelmäßigem Gebrauch der Schuhe.

 

Wie pflege ich Roughout Leather richtig?

Der Begriff Roughout Leather bedeutet im Kern: Rauleder. Modelle mit diesem Ledertypus sind zum Beispiel der 8083 Iron Ranger oder der 8863 Moc Toe. Eine genaue Übersicht aller Modelle finden Sie in der Tabelle unten.

Zuerst sollten die Schnürsenkel ausgeschnürt werden.

Anschließend reinigen Sie die Schuhe mit unserem Nubuck Cleaner Kit. Dies besteht aus einer harten Bürste, mit welcher Sie groben Schmutz vom Oberleder entfernen. Nun benutzen Sie das Rauleder-Radiergummi um durch Reibung tiefer sitzende Flecken zu entfernen.

Tragen Sie nun mit unserer Weltbrush etwas Mink Oil auf den Rahmen des Schuhs auf. Dies ist der umseitige Lederteil, auf dem die Rahmennaht aufgesetzt ist. Durch diese Anwendung mit Fett gewährleisten Sie, dass der Schuh möglichst lang neu besohlbar bleibt. Ein vertrockneter Rahmen macht eine fachgerechte Besohlung unmöglich.

Lassen Sie nun das Fett einige Stunden im Rahmen einziehen und besprühen sie abschließend den gesamten Schuh großzügig mit unserem Leather Protector. Dieses genau auf unser Leder abgestimmtes Imprägnierungsspray schützt den Schuh optimal vor Wasser und Schmutz und sorgt dafür, dass das Leder annähernd wasserdicht ist. Lassen Sie auch das Spray einige Stunden einwirken.

 Es empfiehlt sich, Schuhe die mit einem Roughout Leder gefertigt sind, mindestens 4 x im Jahr mit dem Leather Protector zu behandeln. Den Rahmen sollte man jedoch nicht öfter als 2 x im Jahr fetten und die Reinigung mit dem Nubuck Cleaner Kit kann je nach Bedarf durchgeführt werden.

Nach vielen Jahren des Tragens kann es durchaus nötig sein auch ein Roughout Leder mal zu fetten. Sollte das Leder Ihres Schuhs sehr trocken oder ausgetrocknet sein, schicken Sie uns gerne ein Bild an [email protected] . Wir melden uns dann mit einer professionellen Einschätzung und Empfehlungen zur Öl-Pflege bei Ihnen zurück.


Neubesohlung


Wann muss ich meine Red Wings neubesohlen lassen?

Da unsere Sohlen unterschiedliche Dicken und Materialien aufweisen, ist es schwierig explizite Zeiträume für die Haltbarkeit der Sohlen anzugeben.

Schauen Sie sich einfach die Sohle an: Ist der Absatz oder der hintere Teil der Sohle bereits schief gelaufen? Ist das Profil im vorderen Bereich abgelaufen? Hier gilt: Wenn die Sohle keine oder wenig Stabilität bietet oder das Profil keinen ausreichenden Halt mehr gewährleistet, sollte der Schuh neubesohlt werden.

Rein konstruktionell müssen unsere Sohlen erneuert werden, wenn mehr als die Hälfte des Materials abgetragen ist oder (bei Schuhen mit genagelten Absätzen) wenn die Nägel bereits sichtbar sind.

Sollten Sie unsicher sein, schicken Sie uns gerne Fotos der Sohlen an [email protected] um eine fachmännische Einschätzung zu bekommen.


Wie kann ich meine Red Wings neubesohlen lassen?

Geben Sie die Schuhe einfach in einem unserer Stores in Berlin, Hamburg oder München ab. Das Store Personal kümmert sich um die Abwicklung.

Alternativ können Sie uns Ihre Red Wings auch zur Besohlung zusenden. Wir akzeptieren Neubesohlungsaufträge aus der EU, Norwegen, und der Schweiz

Gehen Sie einfach auf den Menüpunkt “Neubesohlung” in der Navigation auf unserer Website, laden Sie sich die PDF zur Auftragserstellung herunter und drucken Sie diese aus. Tragen Sie nun händisch Ihre Reparaturwünsche und persönlichen Kontaktdaten ein und schicken Sie uns die Schuhe samt ausgefülltem Reparaturzettel an:

 

Red Wing Shoe Store Berlin

Münzstrasse 8

10178 Berlin

 

Nach Erhalt der Schuhe senden wir Ihnen eine Eingangsbestätigung samt Zahlungsaufforderung für den Reparaturauftrag per E-Mail. Bitte überweisen Sie dann den offenen Betrag zeitnah. Nachdem unsere Werkstatt den Auftrag fertiggestellt hat, senden wir Ihnen die Schuhe wieder umgehend an Ihre Wunschadresse zurück.

Alle Infos zur Versand-Neubesohlung entnehmen Sie der Rubrik “Neubesohlung” hier auf der Website.

 

Wie lange dauert eine Neubesohlung? 

Unser Schuhmachermeister kümmert sich mit viel Liebe zum Detail um Ihre Neubesohlungs- und Reparaturwünsche. Da wir Handarbeit anbieten, die eines Red Wing Schuhs würdig ist müssen viele manuelle Einzelschritte erfolgen. Daher dauert eine Neubesohlung in der Regel mindestens 3 Wochen bei persönlicher Abgabe. Bei Versand mindestens 4 Wochen. Wir informieren unsere Kunden verbal im Laden und direkt auf unserer Webseite über die aktuelle Dauer der Neubesohlungsaufträge. In den kälteren Jahreszeiten erfahren wir ein besonders hohes Aufkommen was zu einer gravierenden Verlängerung der Bearbeitungszeit führt. Es bietet sich an im Sommer die Schuhe zu Neubesohlung abzugeben um eine lange Wartezeit zu vermeiden.

 

Was kostet eine Neubesohlung? 

Die aktuelle Liste unseres Neubesohlungsservice, sowie eine Übersicht der Sohlen finden Sie hier

Natürlich führen wir auch kleine Reparaturen, wie das Erneuern von Nähten oder den Austausch von Ösen oder Hardware durch. Kontaktieren Sie gerne telefonisch einer unserer Stores oder schreiben Sie uns eine E-Mail an: [email protected]